Fri 2 Feb 2007
It is never too late to learn something new.
I have not been paying too much attention to my logs lately, but reading an article online on web security made me take a look. And I discovered som incoming links that were very unfamiliar. So I decided to take a look and it turned out to be a hotlinked picture from an article about RSS Owl (a splashscreen that I had permission to use).
My first thought was to contact the author of the site. But this is an Arabic site and I do neither speak the language nor write it. Then I remembered an article I read at Eirikso.com about this and thought I would try something similar just to see if it was detected.
I used a picture of George W. Bush and added a text about supporting him and USA. Then replaced the image. If the picture is still up, you can view it here.
So I will try to make an effort checking logs a little more often. Not that stealing bandwith this way means a lot, but I have to admit that the kid inside me got a little kick out of placing something like this on an Arabic website…
Update: Found another one linking to another picture. This one had not even bothered to use the size tags on the picture, so I used the same picture as in the former one, totally breaking the layout of the site. You can view the result here if it is still up.


February 4th, 2007 at 17:39
Hi Svein. This is very interessting. I´ve never ever thought about this. I see my future full of pranks
Greetings from Germany.
April 4th, 2007 at 05:26
This is so interesting. Sometimes I think I get more enjoyment from messing up someone’s site than I am angry about bandwidth. I have a hotlink image that I substitute and if that doesn’t work I get progressively nastier. If you want to see the final stage after a long battle, look at this link. The link before this one said “I hope your site isnt family friendly”. I report these people to their host and they have abandoned their site now. It would probably not be a good idea to publish this link as it is not very family friendly, but here it is for your amusement. http://262191.multiguestbook.com/ Here is another that is in the starting stages. It’s still “friendly”. lol http://www.friendster.com/38410288 I’ve come to the conclusion many people have no idea what they have done and cannot figure out why their site is being “attacked”. lol
Well, ty for letting me vent. Back to my fun.
Jumpy